The Truth About Poshmark’s Listing Copy Feature

This new information adds another meaning to “Are you sure you want to continue?”

Poshmark introduced the copy feature to make relisting items easier, but there are rumors swirling around that they’ve put the brakes on it. Instead of your copied listings automatically showing up as new or “just in” listings, some people are claiming that sometimes those copied listing are appearing as merely “updated.” This seems to happen when you’re trying to copy listings that are less than 60 days old, according to the grapevine.

I decided to check the accuracy of these rumors so we would know exactly when and when not to use the copy feature. This is what I discovered:

  • At the 54 day mark and before, items ARE NOT listed as new or just in.
  • At the 71 day mark and beyond, items ARE listed as new or just in.

It looks like that 60 day rumor is right on target, which brings us back to the when to relist items question. This would lend support to the ideal of 60 days, perhaps not necessarily from the standpoint of maximizing sales, but from the standpoint of managing the workload. Using the copy feature is a huge timesaver compared to creating new listings for each item, that’s for sure.

Obviously, these numbers need a little fine tuning, but right now this is the best I could do with the items I currently have listed. It’ll take me a couple of months to get more items to the points that I need them to be to try relisting them, so I will update this post and let you know when I can.

Can I also add, for pity’s sake, if you use the copy feature, take the word COPY out of your new heading before relisting it! Why not advertise that it was stale merchandise to begin with if you’re going to do that? Or that you can’t be bothered to proofread? I also wonder if the word “copy” is triggering a few people to report items as replicas, based on some the listings I’ve been asked to review lately.

My takeaway at this moment: The copy feature isn’t a relisting tool until at least day 60, maybe day 70.

One comment

Leave a comment